final programme

diffusion-fundamentals Diffusion Fundamentals III Conference
Final Programme

Diffusion Fundamentals III

Basic Principles of Theory, Experiment and Application
August 23rd - 26th, 2009
Athens, Greece

Sunday, August 23th, 2009
16:00Registration opens at Hotel Emmantina
18:00 - 18:15Welcome (Doros Theodorou)
Oral Session 1:Diffusion in Social Sciences
Chair:Gero Vogl (Vienna)
18:15 - 18:50The Scaling Laws of Human Travel - From Money Dispersal to Global Disease Dynamics
Dirk Brockmann (Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, USA)
18:50 - 19:25Diffusion Models in Anthropology: Population Spread and Cultural Contact
James Steele, Anne Kandler (University College London, United Kingdom)
19:25Welcome Reception, Hotel Emmantina

Monday, August 24th, 2009
Oral Session 2:Diffusion in Polymers
Chair:George Fytas (Heraklion)
09:00 - 09:35Mechanisms and Predictability: Why Fundamentals Matter
Ulrich W. Suter (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)
09:35 - 10:10Diffusion-Controlled Gas Separation Using Polymers
Benny Freeman (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
10:10 - 10:45Beyond Fick: How Best to Deal with non-Fickian Behaviour in a Fickian Spirit
John H. Petropoulos (NCSR "Demokritos", Athens, Greece)
10:45 - 11:15Coffee Break
Oral Session 3:Diffusion in Nanoporous Materials
Chair:William S. Price (Sydney) and Nick Kanellopoulos (Athens)
11:15 - 11:50Crossover from Single-File to Fickian Diffusion in Carbon Nanotubes and Nanotube Bundles: Pure Components and Mixtures
Keith E. Gubbins (North Carolina State University, Raleigh, North Carolina, USA)
11:50 - 12:25Diffusion through Porous Media: Ultrafiltration, Membrane Permeation and Molecular Sieving
Douglas Ruthven (University of Maine, Orono, Maine, USA)
12:25 - 13:00The Wealth of Information from Transient Guest Profiles
Jörg Kärger (Universität Leipzig, Germany)
13:00 - 14:00Lunch break
14:00 - 16:00Poster Session I
16:00 - 23:30Excursion to Cape Sounion and light dinner close to the Temple of Poseidon (more about Sounion)

Tuesday, August 25th, 2009
Oral Session 4:Diffusion in Nanostructured Solids
Chair:Helmut Mehrer (Münster)
09:00 - 09:35Mobile Ions in Nanocrystalline and Amorphous Solids
Paul Heitjans (Leibniz Universität Hannover, Germany)
09:35 - 10:10Diffusion Kinetics in Hollow and Core/Shell Nanoparticles
Graeme E. Murch (University of Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia)
10:10 - 10:45Nanoscale Kirkendall Effect and Beyond
Ulrich Gösele (Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics, Halle, Germany)
10:45 - 11:15Coffee Break
Oral Session 5:Dynamics of Systems with Rugged Energy Surfaces
Chair:Thomas Franosch (München)
11:15 - 11:50A simple mathematical proof of Boltzmann's equal a priori probability hypothesis
Denis J. Evans (Australian National University, Canberra, Australia)
11:50 - 12:25Diffusion Processes in Glass-Forming Systems
Walter Kob (Université de Montpellier II, France)
12:25 - 13:00Mechanical Stability: a Construction Principle for Cells
Klaus Kroy (Universität Leipzig, Germany)
13:00 - 14:00Lunch break
14:00 - 16:00Poster Session II
20:00Conference Dinner, Roof Garden, Hotel Emmantina

Wednesday, August 26th, 2009
Oral Session 6:Diffusion in Living Cells and Tissues
Chair:Philip Kuchel (Sydney)
09:00 - 09:35Exploring Diffusional Behaviour in Nanostructured Systems with Single Molecule Probes: From Nanoporous Materials to Living Cells
Christoph Bräuchle (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München, Germany)
09:35 - 10:10Diffusion of Helium-3 Gas in Lungs: Understanding Lung Structure and Disease
Mark Conradi (Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri, USA)
10:10 - 10:45Single-Particle Tracking: Connecting the Dots
Michael Saxton (University of California, Davis, USA)
10:45 - 11:15Coffee Break
Oral Session 7:Multiscale Simulations
Chair:Gunter Schütz (Jülich)
11:15 - 11:50Molecular Simulations of Diffusion in Nanoporous Metal-Organic Frameworks
Randall Q. Snurr (Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, USA)
11:50 - 12:25Multiscale Simulation of Perm-Selective Polyelectrolyte Membranes
Alex Neimark (Rutgers University, Piscataway, New Jersey, USA)
12:25 - 14:25Poster Session III
14:25 - 15:30Light Lunch
15:30End of the conference, departures

All oral sessions are held in the Hotel Emmantina Conference Room. All poster sessions take place in the Hotel Emmantina salons.

The final programme including the schedule of the poster sessions can be downloaded here:
Poster presenters are kindly asked to mount their posters early in the morning of the day to which they have been assigned and to take them down by 18:00 of the same day. Each poster should be displayed on the board bearing its number. Presenters are also kindly asked to make themselves available at their posters for discussion during the designated sessions.
The poster size should be upright A0 (the effective width must not exceed the 840 mm!).

With its rich cultural heritage, impressive monuments, and charming natural landscape, the city of Athens is an ideal venue for a conference in August (photos). The conference (oral and poster sessions) will take place in the Emmantina Hotel (, in Glyfada (a suburb of Athens), by the coast of the Saronic Gulf (click for bird’s eye view of the location by Google maps).
Please visit the location-page for further details (e.g. airport access, local transport, useful links).

Conference Chairmen: Christian Chmelik, Leipzig; Nick Kanellopoulos, Athens;
Jörg Kärger, Leipzig; Doros Theodorou, Athens

Scientific Committee:
Dezsö L. Beke, DebrecenStefano Brandani, EdinburghArmin Bunde, Giessen
Paul Callaghan, New ZealandAlan Chadwick, CanterburyMarc-Olivier Coppens, Delft
Gerhard Ertl, BerlinDieter Freude, LeipzigFarida Grinberg, Jülich
Paul Heitjans, HannoverJörg Kärger, LeipzigYossi Klafter, Tel Aviv
Alfred Leipertz, Erlangen-NurembergGraeme Murch, CallaghanDouglas M. Ruthven, Orono
Jean Philibert, ParisWilliam S. Price, SydneyDoros Theodorou, Athens
Michael J. Saxton, DavisGunter Schütz, JülichGeorge H. Weiss, Bethesda
Ilpo Vattulainen, HelsinkiGero Vogl, Vienna

Organizing Committee Athens: Nick Kanellopoulos, George Papadopoulos, George Romanos, Doros Theodorou

Organizing Committee Leipzig: Christian Chmelik, Tomas Binder


admin: Tomas Binder