first circular

diffusion-fundamentals Diffusion Fundamentals III Conference
First Circular

Diffusion Fundamentals III

Basic Principles of Theory, Experiment and Application
August 23rd - 26th, 2009
Athens, Greece

Two years after Diffusion Fundamentals II in L'Aquila, Italy, and as part of the celebration of the 600th anniversary of the foundation of Leipzig University, the cradle of the Diffusion Fundamentals Conference series in 2005, the world-wide community of researchers in the field of diffusion is invited to Athens, Greece, to highlight current developments.

Diffusion Fundamentals III is organized under the auspices of the National Technical University of Athens, the National Centre for Scientific Research “Demokritos”, and the University of Leipzig. Again, the conference will consist of invited plenary talks and poster sessions, where both chairmen and plenary speakers are encouraged to refer extensively to the posters relevant for their session. Following the tradition, a Conference Volume with local paintings by Taro Ito will be issued. Simultaneously, all conference contributions shall be available electronically via the Diffusion Fundamentals Online Journal.

The scientific programme includes invited plenary talks, covering those topics of diffusion theory, experiment and application, which are in the focus of current research. The talks will address a broad interdisciplinary audience within the wide-stretching field of diffusion, including the presentation of

  • Diffusion in Nanostructured Solids, Nanoporous Materials, Polymers and Living Cells
  • Diffusion Analogues in Social Sciences and Ecology,
  • Multiscale Simulation of Mass Transfer Phenomena,
  • Novel Insights by Novel Measuring Techniques .

So far the following plenary speakers have accepted our invitation:

Christoph Bräuchle, München Klaus Kroy, Leipzig
Mark Conradi, Saint Louis Alexander V. Neimark, Piscataway
Benny Freeman, Austin John H. Petropoulos, Athens
Ulrich Gösele, Halle Graeme E. Murch, Newcastle
Keith Gubbins, North Carolina Douglas M. Ruthven, Maine
Paul Heitjans, Hannover Randall Q. Snurr, Evanston
Jörg Kärger, Leipzig Sir John M. Thomas, Cambridge
Walter Kob, Montpellier

Each group of plenary talks shall be accompanied by poster sessions. Ideally, the contributions to the poster sessions should be related to the various aspects covered in the plenary talks. Correspondingly, the plenary speakers and the chairpersons of the sessions shall be asked to serve as first reviewers of the poster submissions and shall be encouraged to refer to individual posters during their presentations, whenever appropriate.

Again, to reach as many (in particular young) researchers as possible, the conference is planned as a low-cost conference (participation fee between 200,- € and 300,- € aspired, depending on the level of sponsorship, with a reduced fee for students), which implies to rely on information exchange by www as extensively as possible. The conference fee comprises catering during the conference, the social programme, including Gala Dinner, and the Conference Volume.

With its rich cultural heritage, impressive monuments, and charming natural landscape, the city of Athens is an ideal venue for a conference in August. The conference will take place in the Emmantina Hotel (, in Glyfada, by the coast of the Saronic Gulf. Conferees will be housed in the Emmantina and nearby Palmyra Beach ( hotels, in a quiet seaside location easily accessible from the bustling centre of Athens by bus and tram and from the Athens airport by bus.

Authors are requested to send their two-pages abstracts via the Internet before March 15th, 2009. Please, follow the format as given under since only if this format is followed may the contribution be included in the Conference Volume.

Important Dates

December 1st, 20082nd circular, abstract submission and registration opened on the web
March 15th, 2009Deadline for submission of poster abstracts for the conference volume
March 30th, 2009Information about acceptance of poster contributions communicated by organizers
April 15th Registration deadline (early registration fee)
August 1stDeadline for registration with late dues;
deadline for full paper contributions of poster presenters;
deadline for last-minute poster contributions
August 23rd - 26thDiffusion Fundamentals III

Conference Chairmen: Christian Chmelik, Leipzig; Nick Kanellopoulos, Athens;
Jörg Kärger, Leipzig; Doros Theodorou, Athens

Scientific Committee:
Dezsö L. Beke, DebrecenStefano Brandani, LondonArmin Bunde, Giessen
Paul Callaghan, New ZealandAlan Chadwick, CanterburyMarc-Olivier Coppens, Delft
Gerhard Ertl, BerlinDieter Freude, LeipzigFarida Grinberg, Leipzig
Paul Heitjans, HannoverJörg Kärger, LeipzigYossi Klafter, Tel Aviv
Alfred Leipertz, Erlangen-NurembergGraeme Murch, CallaghanDouglas M. Ruthven, Orono
Jean Philibert, ParisWilliam S. Price, SydneyDoros Theodorou, Athens
Michael J. Saxton, DavisGunter Schütz, JülichGeorge H. Weiss, Bethesda
Ilpo Vattulainen, HelsinkiGero Vogl, Vienna

Organizing Committee Athens: Nick Kanellopoulos, George Papadopoulos, George Romanos, Doros Theodorou

Organizing Committee Leipzig: Christian Chmelik, Tomas Binder


A poster announcing the conference may be found under (pdf, 0.3 MB).

admin: Tomas Binder